Verify your familiarity with a particular set of SOLIDWORKS-related skills.

What are SOLIDWORKS Certifications?  

SOLIDWORKS Corp grants SOLIDWORKS certificates to verify your familiarity with a particular set of SOLIDWORKS-related skills. They are your best way to prove your expertise in using SOLIDWORKS to potential employers and clients. There are a wide variety of certifications offered by SOLIDWORKS. Each can help you demonstrate your skills to a certain level.   

What is a SOLIDWORKS Certification Exam?  

SOLIDWORKS certification exams are what you need to pass to acquire any specific certificate. Each certificate has its own exam that you can take online. 

There altogether 4 different levels of the solidworks certification: associate level, professional level, professional-advanced level and expert level

What are the Available Certifications For SOLIDWORKS?

SOLIDWORKS certificates are at four different levels: Associate, Professional, Professional-Advanced, and Expert. There is more than one certificate on offer under each level. If you are starting from scratch, we recommend you follow the indicated arrows for your certification journey below.  

Which Solidworks Certification should I Take First? 

This images list out the solidworks learning pathway if you are started from scratch with solidworks software


Certified SOLIDWORKS Associate


Certified SOLIDWORKS Professional  


Certified SOLIDWORKS Professional Advanced 


Certified SOLIDWORKS Expert


Computer-aided Manufacturing 


Application Programming Interface  

You can find more information about each of the certificates on the official SOLIDWORK certifications program page. Different certificates are being added to the list over time as SOLIDWORKS keeps adding more functions to the software.  

Which of the SOLIDWORKS Certificates do I Need to Take?  

Every person is different in terms of which certificates they need or should take. The most common core SOLIDWORKS Certificates are the CSWA and the CSWP, both relating to Mechanical Design. If you are starting with SOLIDWORKS or looking to use it to create generic 3D Models, we would recommend you work toward those two levels. Those will equip you with the most common SOLIDWORKS tools and give you a good foundation to move towards any of the more specialized levels. As for the rest of the levels, that would mostly depend on your intended specific applications. For example, suppose you will be working towards designing sheet metals. In that case, it is recommended to seek the advanced sheet metal certificate. Similarly, with all the professional advanced levels and the specialty topics like simulations, CAM, etc.

What SOLIDWORKS certification program are Available to Me?  

All the certification exams are available for anyone to take. All of the certification exams are conducted online through the Tangix TesterPro Client, which you can download through the 3D Experience Certification Centre. Depending on your skill level and needs, you can pick the certificates that best suit you. With the exception of the Expert Certification, there are no prerequisites to taking any of the certificates.   

How do I take a SOLIDWORKS Certification Exam?  

You can take any of the SOLIDWORKS Certifications through the SOLIDWORKS Certification Program. The certifications are paid with prices ranging from USD 20 to 149. Once you purchase an exam, you will be able to take it through the TesterPro Client. You will need to have a stable internet connection through the exam as they are online.  

Student editions:

If you are a student, you might be eligible for free certification vouchers if you belong to an institution that is an Academic Certification Provider.  

If I have a SOLIDWORKS license with an Active Subscription, can I use it to Redeem Free Certification Exams Vouchers? 

If you have an active SOLIDWORKS subscription, you are eligible for free vouchers for three certifications exams every six months for each subscription. The three free vouchers have to be on three different certification categories. They are as following:  

  1. Core topics: CSWA or CSWP, each is at a value of USD 99.  
  2. Advanced Topic: a choice between Drawings tools, Mold Making, Sheet Metal, Surfacing, and Weldments. Each is at a value of USD 20.  
  3. Specialty Topics: a choice between Additive Manufacturing, Electrical Associate, Simulation Associate, Sustainability Associate, CAM Professional, MBD Professional, PDM Administrator, or Simulation Professional. Each is at a value of USD 50. 

Each of the vouchers will have six months of validity from the day of issue. Also, the vouchers are not restricted to a specific person, so you can give the voucher codes to any member of your team.

What Happens if I Fail a Certification Exam?  

If you fail the certification exams, you can simply retake it. However, you can’t immediately after. Each of the exams has a specified period that you have to wait. The waiting period to retake an exam is 14 days, except for the expert level exams, which have a waiting period of 90 days. There will be no public records for any failed attempt you have.  

I have been using SOLIDWORKS for Many Years. Should I get Certified? 

Many tend to think that it is enough to say that you have used SOLIDWORKS for multiple years. However, that does not prove that you have a well-rounded understanding of SOLIDWORKS tools and functions to meet the standard of the certified solidworks expert.  This is especially the case with critical functions relating to model optimizations and maintaining design intents.  
A SOLIDWORKS certification will not only prove your skills on the surface to build visual models but also covers other functions like design optimization, the ability to maintain design intents and be able to do all that in a benchmarked timed duration.  

Are the SOLIDWORKS Certifications Verified?  

Each issued certification would have a unique Certification ID for people to validate it through the 3DExperience Certification Centre. In addition, there is a public certified users directory that contains a list of all certified users. As a certified user, you can choose if you want to be listed there or not through your account at the 3DExperience Certification Center.  
Suppose you are looking for structured online courses that cover some of the different certifications. In that case, you can check out our TforDesign School. You can also check out our TforDesign Blog in which we explore various related topics.